Create Your Own Faith-Listen to Your Heart

If there’s anything more important to me than my passions, my friends, and my family, it’s my faith.

I don’t have my faith in a labeled religion with rules laid out for me that I need to follow day for day.

My faith lies in the belief that each and every one of us can choose our own faith-if you choose to believe in God, and Heaven and Hell, and everything else-go for it! If you choose to believe in Islam, or Judaism, or any other religion. (There’s your key word) – Go for it.

Because to give it to ya straight, I don’t care what you choose to believe in, as long as #1; You don’t harm me, my friends, my family, etc., and #2; don’t try and tell me that my beliefs are wrong and that if I don’t believe in God, “I’m going to regret it”.

Because ya know somethin? I really don’t care what you think of me, or my faith. I have my own beliefs, my own “religion” so to speak, and I stand by that.

Regardless of what anybody, ,my friends, family, parents, teachers, mentors, advisors, peers, or anyone else tells me.

‘Cause guess what buddy?  I ain’t gonna listen to what you have to say about my faith if all you’re gonna do is tell me that I’m wrong and that I’m gonna be screwed in the afterlife.

Because if I am screwed in the afterlife, if there is a higher being watching our every move, then ya know what? I take more pride in the fact that I am able to stand up for what believe is right.

I apologize for my rant, but this is something very close to my heart.  I don’t need to be told what to believe.

My father sometimes tells me he regrets not having me go to church every weekend. My response? I thank him for not having me grow up being taught what to put my faith in.

Thank you dad, for allowing me to learn my lessons and learn the values that are truly close to my heart. For allowing me to truly, deeply…be my own person.  You have no idea how much I appreciate the fact that I can learn who I want to be down to my very core.

Thank you for letting me truly be myself. 

My point here?

I really, truly hope that the person reading this, whoever you are…

I hope you have the ability to look at your surroundings and ask and answer the question;

“What do really think is right?” What, in my heart, not in my mind, but in my heart…do I think is important?

I’m willing to bet that not even fifteen percent of you can honestly answer that question for yourself.

And if you can, you’ve probably got one hell of a surprise waiting deep down, because what’s right in your heart, may defy what’s right in your mind. We’re taught to think logically. It might be shocking to realize that your logic isn’t actually all that logical, or true to who you are.

I encourage you to be who you want to be. I dont care what anybody else thinks as long as you can tell yourself that YOU are right.

Leave a Reply

